March 14, 2023, Chattanooga, TN – Members of AGC East Tennessee celebrated the opening the Construction Career Center and other successes over the past year at its 2023 Annual Meeting and Celebration.  More than 175 construction professionals were in attendance on March 9 where individuals were recognized for outstanding contributions to the industry.

Nic Cornelison, President of P&C Construction and past Chair of AGC East Tennessee, was presented with the prestigious SIR Award, which celebrates the organization’s core values of skill, integrity, and responsibility. The SIR Award bestows this honor annually to recognize individuals for a lifetime of exemplary service and substantial contributions to the construction industry, the AGC organization and their community.

“Nic is a risk taker, he is bold, he is discerning.  He is a confident decision maker, resilient, and above all, he is honest'” said AGC Chair Jason Medeiros. “Serving on the AGC for more than 20 years, his contributions to our industry, including his influence in making the Construction Career Center happen, have been nothing short of remarkable.”

Carol Pond, Chief Administrative Officer of AGC East Tennessee, received a Lifetime Achievement Award for her 29 years of exemplary service to the organization.  During the course of her tenure, Carol has ensured the organizational and financial health of AGC while producing hundreds of events and programs to bring members together.

Arch Willingham, President of T.U. Parks and past Chair of AGC East Tennessee, was recognized with the Excellence in Education award.  Arch serves as an adjunct professor of UTC, has been an instructor for AGC for more than 20 years, and provides mentorship to professionals entering the industry.

Forrest Catron, Project Manager at Wright Brothers Construction, received AGC’s Young Leader of the Year award for demonstrating integrity, quality of character, and a commitment to professional development.

High school students attending the Construction Career Center recognized peer students who have gone above and beyond to demonstrate leadership qualities.  The Howard School selected Mauricio Fransico Martinez and East Ridge High School selected Alicia Lucas to be honored as Outstanding Students of the Year.

Building Leaders of Chattanooga (BLOC), AGC’s network of professionals under 40, ushered in a new slate of board members, including:

Rob Bentley, Chair, T.T. Wilson

Rachael Hendrix, Vice Chair, TU Parks

Forrest Catron, Secretary/Treasurer, Wright Brothers

John Clevenger, Chair of Student Outreach, J&J Contractors,

Matt Elliott, EMJ Corporation, Social Chair

Jack Feagans, Logan-Moore

Micah Schreiner, JDH Corporation

Taylor Shugart, Martin Marietta

Winston Whitener, Ooltewah Nursery